Movies

The Hunger Games Trailer Premieres at the VMAs

Forest and flames and braids, oh my!

In case you missed it, last night at the VMAs, Jennifer Lawrence premiered a clip of her new movie, The Hunger Games, coming out next year.

For those of you who don’t know, The Hunger Games is based on the book by Suzanne Collins, which takes place in a future North America.  Two tributes from 12 different districts are chosen and placed in an arena where they must compete to the death.  The last one standing wins the Games.

The clip that premiered at the VMAs was only about 40 seconds long, but it got me so psyched for the movie.  I’m interested to see how director Gary Ross will interpret the book, which gets extremely bloody and graphic.  I just hope that the movie stays true to what happens in the book.  The first few seconds of the clip reminded me of Twilight, but when I saw Katniss Evergreen (Jennifer Lawrence) running through the woods to try and escape fire, I knew this will be nothing like the crappy Twilight film.  My favorite part of the clip was when Katniss turned all badass and shot an arrow, which turned into the logo of The Hunger Games movie.

My only problem with this clip was the lack of boys.  Where’s Gale and Peeta (played by Liam Hemsworth and Josh Hutcherson)?  That’s who I’m looking most forward to – the love triangle between Katniss and her boys.  At least there was a voiceover that featured Liam Hemsworth’s character.  When the voiceover began and I heard Gale’s voice, I literally screamed like a 12-year-old girl meeting Justin Bieber.  In between scenes of Katniss running and dodging fires, Gales says “Ok, listen to me, you’re stronger than they are, you are.  They just want a good show, that’s all they want.  You know how to hunt.  Show ‘em how good you are.” I’m sure the people who have never read the books saw this clip and asked, “What the hell?” but fans of the books were probably reeling with excitement when they saw it, myself included.

I must admit, I didn’t care much about The Hunger Games until about a month ago.  Before I read the book, I figured that I was already obsessed with so many other movie franchises (*ahem* Twilight and Harry Potter *ahem*) that I didn’t need to focus my time and energy on another franchise.  But when I finally gave in last month and read the trilogy by Suzanne Collins, in three days by the way, I was hooked. The book is AMAZING!  It’s nothing like any other book out there, and the writing is actually good (sorry Stephenie Meyer), which is why I’m so excited to watch the movie when it comes out March 23, 2012!

It’s a shame that they’re still filming.  I don’t know if I can wait that long until this movie premieres.  But trust me when I say that I will be at the theater at midnight, waiting in line for hours with all the other Jabberjays until the lights go down and the reaping begins.

Is it March yet?

 

Leave a comment